Bus Gate : Bristol

Associate
If i recognise that area correctly, there's loads of houses with parked cars all the way down. So it does add to the confusion more, especially if you follow a resident. Would be at least slightly reasonable if public transport was any good.

Soldato
The guy holding the ‘no entry’ sign is what I would have expected.

There is a no entry sign on the other side of the road though, which doesn't help things, but there is one there.

You've so driven over a red bit of road with the writing BUS on it. Not sure what you expected the road to be. That's a textbook bus lane.

And there's a sign of a camera...

They could definitely make it easier to notice but it's not exactly hard to notice it as it is, if you're paying attention.

Last edited:
Soldato
OP
I got caught as a visitor to Bristol I have no local knowledge but the fact this bus gate has caught so many people out means there is something wrong with its designed.

As per article

"If it keeps going at the current rate, it'll end up issuing over 120,000 fines this year, the national average for a bus gate is less than 5,000,"

Most bus lanes I’ve ever come across are a lane next to another lane for cars etc, this is not.

I agree I probably wasn't paying enough attention but I would have expected a sign like the one on the right ;)

embed

I'd love to see a breakdown of the fines to see how many were local vs visitors, this 'gate' is just down from the 'SS Great Britain' exhibit.

Last edited:
Soldato
I got caught as a visitor to Bristol I have no local knowledge but the fact this bus gate has caught so many people out means there is something wrong with its designed.

As per article

"If it keeps going at the current rate, it'll end up issuing over 120,000 fines this year, the national average for a bus gate is less than 5,000,"

Most bus lanes I’ve ever come across are a lane next to another lane for cars etc, this is not.