Linux Distros

Associate
I am a linux/unix newbie, (hopefully not for long though) could some one tell me which linux distros are free and which you have to pay for?
I have just started using redhat 7.3 and hp-ux, red hat seems fairly easy to us, contrary to popular belief, and i want to start using it more.
Any sites on the first install would be good to!
Cheers

Associate
You are using HP-UX, do you use it at university?

All Linux distros are free in one form or another, some like Suse you cant get the latest version except if you buy it off them, but you are paying for the media and the support rather than the actual linux software.

The first install of redhat is simple, put disk in drive, reboot and follow the instructions on screen, RH dosnt really let you go wrong :D

Associate
OP
Yea use hp-ux in one of the labs, on some hp work stations couldent tell you which one though.
Would it be better/easier to put it on a seperatate disk or a partion of my main disk, as I am running xp pro at the moment and would like to keep that, for a while at least.
Does it put on its own boot menu or is that somthing I have to do?

Associate
Linux has its own boot loader, RH8 uses Grub some older versions use Lilo as do a lot of other distros.

You have to fiddle a little to get grub to work with windows XP but there are good guides arround the net to help you out (I saw something on here but cant find it now)

It is cool to know that HP machines are still used in accademic institutions, most have replaced their traditional UX boxes with dual boot linux boxes, personally I think that there is nothing like decent UX experence.

Associate
OP
Experience is certainly the word!
So far the labs I have been in have had, hp-ux in one, redhat Linux 7.3 in another (which I think is fairly common around the site) and win 2k, i didn’t use it but i believe that it is on the Linux boxes loaded through a virtual machine, if that sounds right!

Associate