Anyone tried Crossover?

Soldato
From what I have been reading it seems to be a commercial version WINE from Linux ported to the Mac and runs some (most?) Windows games on the Mac.

There is one really old game I really want to play. It is called Supreme Commander: Forged Alliance and I'm not sure if paying for Crossover is worth it or not.

Commissario
I have.

But I bought and used it in 2008.

It did what I wanted though and I'd assume it's come on a bit since then. Not sure how well it'd work emulating Windows on Apple Silicon though.

Soldato
OP
I have.

But I bought and used it in 2008.

It did what I wanted though and I'd assume it's come on a bit since then. Not sure how well it'd work emulating Windows on Apple Silicon though.
Thank you.

First problem hit: Steam doesn't let you download Windows games on the Mac. I'll look into this when I have some spare time.

Associate
I use it on my MacBook but I'm quite new to it, and bear in mind only some games run decent on it and dont expect an RTX 4090 experience on it.

You can download Steam without Mac but can then only install Mac supported games and others will say platform not compatible or something along those lines.

what you actually have to do with crossover is to search for steam within the crossover menu and let crossover install steam, as it then downloads some additional files, then search for a game on crossover and look to see what the rating is and whether it says the game runs, then you have to open Steam within crossover and download the game that way. (or I think you can search for the game within crossover, click install and then crossover automatically opens steam and installs it)

Last edited:
Associate