Best centre speaker for clear vocals in movies?

Associate
My centre speaker is a Wharfdale that came as part of a cheap 5.1 set ages ago. The vocals are really hit and miss. I know some movies do this on purpose (Nolan) but overall I just want less muffled voices and more clarity.

I'd like to hear recommendations on what you centre speaker have or if you made a similar upgrade and if you were happy or not?

Soldato
Maybe a silly suggestion but have you tried changing the volume on the one speaker? Through my surround configuration on my AVR I have the centre channel boosted up to help with dialogue.

maj

maj

Soldato
I'm by no means an expert on home cinema but it's usually recommended to have your centre matching your others but that will be the case already if you have a 5.1 bundle.

Have you tried running the wizard on the AVR? As others have said there's probably a setting you can change to help.

Soldato
My centre speaker is a Wharfdale that came as part of a cheap 5.1 set ages ago. The vocals are really hit and miss. I know some movies do this on purpose (Nolan) but overall I just want less muffled voices and more clarity.

I'd like to hear recommendations on what you centre speaker have or if you made a similar upgrade and if you were happy or not?
It's not the speaker, it's the audio mix. See if there's a dialogue mode on your AVR which will boost levels from the center to make speech more audible.

Associate
OP
Maybe a silly suggestion but have you tried changing the volume on the one speaker? Through my surround configuration on my AVR I have the centre channel boosted up to help with dialogue.

Its rarely the speaker, more often just need to change settings on the avr.

I've got a specific setting that helps with dialogue, and also boosted the level of the centre by a couple of dB which helps